Festivals galore!

There’s one problem to the summer – too many craft festivals!! There’s always something going on somewhere, or something to plan to go to, never good if, like me, you live on a very restricted budget and don’t get out of the house much!! But I have managed to get to 3 events this summer, which I’m very proud about. Didn’t always cope too well, and didn’t spend much, but they were good for getting inspiration if nothing else!

The first one I went to was Stamparama on 12 August, which takes place at a local theatre. This is an event which takes place twice a year (February and August), and has lots of different stalls selling all sorts of stamping and papercrafting supplies. What’s especially good about this show (other than the fact it’s 5 minutes down the road!) is that each stall has displays of cards etc made with the stuff they sell, and they don’t mind you taking pictures, so it’s worth paying the £2 entry fee just to take pictures of everything and get inspiration for things to make and follow trends, as well as picking up the bargains on offer!

The next event I went to was the first ever Great British Craft Fair (GBCF) at Donington. This was a 3 day event from 17-19 August, with the Friday being a whole day of workshops, then the Saturday and Sunday were a regular craft fair (on a BIG scale!). I went to the workshops on the Friday (pictures below), which were brilliant, and learnt a lot of new stuff, including:

  • The Christmas tree card: how to use pastels to make backgrounds, using glue on a stamp and foil flakes to make an image and edge a card
  • Debbi Moore: how to make a tent card, how to make a pop-up/pull-up image to hide a greeting, how to glitter an image effectively
  • Hunkydory: how to use acetate to make a top to a card, how to make easel cards

Dad came and took me to the Saturday so I could visit the stalls I wanted to see whilst coping with the crowds (although I still had to take lots of breaks outside!). I have to say, I took a set amount of money with me in cash as my spending money, and didn’t spend it all, or even 3/4 of it, so I was quite proud of my restraint!! I did order a hot foil wizard system when I came home though, as it is BRILLIANT – something you will see as part of my August work, and leading up to Christmas!

The last one I went to was on Sunday 26, and was at the local University of Hertfordshire campus. It was a beading event, and I’d been told about it by someone at the Donington event. It was a really good event, much calmer than the others, and everyone was so lovely and helpful (and Yaris was made such a fuss of, so he had a lovely time too!!). I also did a free workshop session to learn how to make beads and a button from Fimo clay, which was interesting (though I am RUBBISH at it!!! Definitely something I would need to work at!). I got a demonstration for how to make the shambala-style bracelet my sister wants me to make her, as well as being talked through the other items I bought (naughty Donna, I did buy a few things it’s true, but I had money left from last week!!). Anyway, it should keep me out of trouble for a while at least!!

So, that’s my entertainment for the last few weeks. Has anyone else been to any events recently?

Donna x

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

