Craft Holiday Day 4 – Winter Wonderland, Enamelled Hearts & A Relaxing Massage

Hi!
Day 4 of my lovely holiday at the Manor House Hotel for 12 blissful days of crafting! Plenty of time for playing with Yaris, as well as lovely food!

Spent the morning at an all-morning session on Creative Embroidery, run by Jo, the same lady who taught us Patchwork earlier in the week (a great tutor!!). Have been looking forward to this session and dreading it in equal measure – looking forward to it as it’s something I’ve wanted to try for a while, and dreading it as it means being creative and making decisions – neither of which I’m any good at!! You basically have access to whatever materials and threads etc you want, and you use them to make a picture with. I couldn’t even decide what subject to make my picture of, never mind what materials to use, then I saw a picture on the wall of a Christmas card someone had made in a different workshop, and I thought it might be fun to have a go at doing something Christmassy.
So, that decision made, I then had to decide what to make it with, and what picture to make. In the end, I have chosen a piece of material that’s already coloured for my background – it’s a kind of fairly deep blue, but has a sweeping pattern on it in a yellow that almost looks like the Northern Lights. I thought I could use this as a night sky, and add some glitter paint to make stars in it, along with French knots as snowflakes. At the bottom of the picture I have used some white silk scraps to make a snowy hillside, then put on 3 felt Christmas trees, and I think at home I also have a reindeer which I could add too. Then I will add some red seed beads to the trees as lights, and silver beads as further snowflakes in the sky and in front of the trees to complete the look. The finished picture will be stretched and mounted in a picture frame. I’ve not yet finished the piece, but have attached pictures of what I’ve done so far.

This afternoon I had an enamelling session, which was fun. I did have a go last year when I was here, but my memory being what it is, I’d forgotten everything! I managed to make myself a pair of red heart earrings during the session, and I’ve made a present for my gran too, but I won’t put on here what it is, as I don’t want her finding out before I give it to her!!

Finished off the day with a lovely full-body massage – absolute bliss! Felt so relaxing, I almost fell asleep right there on the table! Hope will help with sleep tonight too, but definitely worth doing either way. Will have to find time to go at least once more before I go home!!

Below are pictures of my earrings and my embroidery piece so far. Apologies they’re not step-by-step ones today, forgot to take my iPad to take the pics!!
And sorry again that they’re not the greatest quality, or in my usual slideshow format, but I don’t have my usual editing software.
Talk tomorrow!
Donna

20130614-125157.jpg

20130614-125148.jpg

20130614-125139.jpg

Leave a Reply

