Craft Holiday Day 6 – Glass Engraving

Hi!
Day 6 of my lovely holiday at the Manor House Hotel for 12 blissful days of crafting! Plenty of time for playing with Yaris, as well as lovely food!

This morning I went to a glass engraving workshop, which is always fun! When I’ve attempted this at home I used my Dremel tool to do it by hand, but here we used the sand blasting technique, which was much easier!! Whilst I’d done this workshop when I came to the hotel last year, I’d forgotten how to do it, so was nice to have a reminder too!!
Last year I made a beer mug for my dad, but this time I decided to make a glass plate for on my craft room wall at home, alongside the porcelain one that’s already there. This new glass one has Yaris’s name in the middle, and pictures of dogs and bones around it. I put these on using transfer stickers, then added a border around the edge of the plate using masking tape, which I also used to cover the back, before using the sand blaster to then engrave around the stickers and create the finished product you see in the picture below (with big thanks to our tutor Toby, who operated the pedal for me!).

In the afternoon I had signed up for a picture framing workshop, but I couldn’t access the saws that I needed to use for it. For that reason, I decided to spend the afternoon playing with Yaris instead, and then went and had a lie down and read my book!

Below is a picture of my engraved plate. Apologies it’s not step-by-step ones today, forgot to take my iPad to take the pics!!
And sorry again that they’re not the greatest quality, or in my usual slideshow format, but I don’t have my usual editing software.
Talk tomorrow!
Donna

20130617-122639.jpg

Leave a Reply

