Craft Holiday Day 11 – Amazing Progress!

Hi!
Day 11 of my lovely holiday at the Manor House Hotel for 12 blissful days of crafting, and my last full day – boo hoo!! Plenty of time for playing with Yaris, as well as lovely food!

Had a late breakfast then, after a quick play session to burn off the worst of the excess energy, got ready and into our car to drive to Okehampton, the local town. This is my first time going into any town centre alone with Yaris, so I was really scared, which is most likely why I got hopelessly lost on the way there and ended up somewhere miles away, in the back of beyond – that’s my excuse anyway, and I’m sticking to it!! Luckily, the lady I asked directions from was going into Okehampton herself, so I could just follow her back, which was great!
When we eventually reached Oakhampton, we parked in a local supermarket car park, which gives easy access straight across a road into the shopping arcade called Red Lion Yard I’d been told had a lovely craft shop in called Rockin’ Beads. So that was my first stop (of course!), where I spent most of what’s left of my spending money – there were just so many pretty things! But sssh, don’t tell anyone!! And, now I know they’re there and run so many different courses in jewellery making, knitting and crochet, next time I’m down here I will arrange to go over there for a course too.
Last task in town before heading back was to visit their supermarket and picked up a couple of bits I needed, which also gave Yaris a chance to practise his shopping skills – getting things off shelves, giving the cashier my purse, and getting it back. He’s done really well at all these tasks, though still has one or two issues with a satellite delay in the brain (bit like me really!!!) when handing over the purse, which means he lets go too late and is already halfway down again by then! Takes a couple of tries but he gets there eventually! But you know what they say, practise makes perfect!

We had lunch on our return, then a play for 10 minutes before going down to the craft centre to collect the dippy candles I made. Managed to fall out of my wheelchair on the way down there and give myself a concussion, ripped trousers and some lovely bruising, but I’ll survive!!

Had a snooze for an hour once got back to room (playing ball on way of course!!), as was knackered from stress of town visit. Then I used some of the time before dinner to start packing my stuff in advance of leaving tomorrow (boo hoo!!!!)

An early tea and an early bedtime, and hopefully I’ll be nice and rested for the long drive home tomorrow!
Donna x

Leave a Reply

